Weekend Coffee Share

Weekend Coffee Share (33rd Birthday and Life)

If we were having coffee I’d invite you to sit outside in the front yard in the Adirondack chairs. Fall has come! The sun has risen but wasn’t accompanied by humidity or heat. Thank goodness. We’d enjoy a few cups of coffee while we breathed in the moist morning air (it has rained all week here). The precipitation is lingering. It’s welcomed by me! Our rainfall totals were down. We needed the rain to refresh and revive our area.

How was your week? Did you do anything fun or exciting? Anything new? What’s going on in your world?

If we were having coffee you’d ask where I’d been all week. My internet connection began to fail earlier this week. I’m unsure of the day but I received an email from my carrier and arrived home to find a hang tag on my front door explaining that I may have a connectivity issue. With the world being how it is I assumed it was probably a scam. (paranoid me lol) Which lead me to ignore both notifications. Long story short I called the company, they sent a technician out this morning, and now I’m here able to share virtual coffee with you! (I’m so glad).

Thursday was my 33rd birthday!! Yay! In desperate need of quiet me time I only divulged my plan to not work on Thursday less than 12 hours before Thursday arrived. Also only to certain people. If I’m honest I didn’t want any company, I didn’t want anyone monopolizing my time, I didn’t want to have to care if someone was uncomfortable or ready to leave, I wanted to be alone. (selfish maybe but for the most part I’m around someone almost 24 hours a day lol). So I’m sure you’re wondering where I went and what I did. My 1st stop was Starbucks. I treated myself to an almost $5 Salted Caramel Moca (omg no coffee is $5 good but I did it anyway). I snuggled into a comfy chair in the farthest  corner of the “coffeehouse” and began to  read a book my HR coach recommended. Even in the this most secluded area I wasn’t safe from the world. LOL. About 15 minutes into my sit and older gentlemen came over, sat right beside me, and started talking. My initial thought was “how rude is this”. LOL. Just being honest. However, once I realized he had no intentions of not talking to me and that he was going to be here for a while I surrendered. Come to find out he was retired military (Marine to be exact), he spoke several different languages, and had traveled the world in his (based on his appearance) long life. My enjoyment in speaking to him surprised me. (You know since I had planned for a day free of talking to anyone unless I had to lol)

If we were having coffee I’d tell you I went to the Gordon Parks exhibit at an art museum about 35 minutes away from my hometown. Gordon Parks was the 1st African American photographer for Life Magazine. The photos in the exhibit were from in the 1950. After moving away from his hometown of Fort Scott he returned to do an article (which for some reason was never published in Life). It documented the lives of his fellow classmates, spoke to segregation, and much more. The exhibit was one I am very thankful to have been able to see. I read every caption to every photograph (there were over 40). To my surprise I actually stood to read an entire 8 page article he wrote about “being black” in these times. It detailed his experiences as a black man. It was thought provoking. His words reached deep into my heart! If ever this exhibit makes it’s way to an art museum near you please check it out!

After spending several hours perusing the art museum I headed downstairs to the little cafe and had lunch alone. It was a really nice day for me!  It doesn’t take much for me. I’m a simple gal! ๐Ÿ™‚ Spare of the moment I decided to get a tattoo on my wrist but it didn’t work out. Each tattoo parlor said my wrist was too small for what I wanted. LOL. Perhaps it wasn’t meant!

Well the little lady and I have a birthday party to attend today! It’s a Glitz and Glamour theme! Sounds fancy huh? I think it’s going to be enjoyable. We have to go pick up a gift and something glitzy and glamorous to wear.

As always I enjoy our coffee shares together. Later today I will meet you at your venue to enjoy coffee with you! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sending all the light and love possible and wishing you the best week ever ahead! โค


#WeekendCoffeeShare is hosted by Diana at Parttime Monster Blog. You can join the conversation here!

27 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share (33rd Birthday and Life)

  1. Happy Birthday! Sounds like you had a really interesting day. The older guy intrigues me. Not often someone imposes themselves like that but sounds like it was meant to be. The Gordon Park exhibitions sounds amazing and I wish I could get there. It’s a long way from Australia though. Have you read Maya Angelou’s “Now I know why the caged bird sings”. I think you’d really enjoy it. It addresses some similar themes.
    Well, I hope you have a great week and year ahead!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!

      I did have a very interesting day. I told my guy the same thing. For the stranger to come over and continue talking it must have been a conversation I was meant to take part in. He was a very nice guy. I have not read the book but I may soon!

      Thanks for the comment! I’ll meet you for coffee soon! Have a great week!

      Like

    1. Thank you! I only enjoy $5 coffee on special occasions lol. His photography captured the feeling of the era through facial expressions coupled with excerpts explaining the persons reality at the time. It really was an awesome exhibit.

      Have a great week! Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I do cherish my quiet time. I used to feel guilty. On several occasions in the past I’ve used my birthday to have lunch with kids at school or run errands. However now I realize it needs to be one of the few days I cater to myself!

      Have an awesome week! Thanks for having coffee with me! ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy belated birthday! What a FABULOUS way to spend it! Glad you still enjoyed the conversation at Starbucks – kind of odd someone would strike up a conversation seeing that you’re reading a book. Maybe try headphones too next time. LOL Sorry about the tattoo!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!

      It’s funny you bought up headphones. The idea that I should have had them with me popped in my head at the beginning of the conversation. Lol. He was a very interested man so it all worked out in the end.

      Have a wonderful week! Thanks for stopping by! ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

Leave a Reply

