Recipe

Homemade Mac and Cheese

It’s been a nemesis of mine for quite some time…Macaroni and Cheese! For whatever reason over 10-12 years (I know I exaggerate a lot but this is not a exaggeration) this immaculately tasty dish has never come out correctly if my hands were used to prepare it lol. My mother has prepared this dish hundreds of times while I was in her presence. Yet, my attempts to recreate the side dish were less than horrible. (Ha less than horrible…that’s really bad huh?)

Over the weekend I decided to try this one last time. If this attempt had been unsuccessful, with all the honesty in my body, I was never going to try again! (That’s what you call an adult temper tantrum lol)

What You Will Need:
4 cups of milk
1/2 cup sour cream (optional)
2 tbsp salt (half if needed for health reasons)
1 tbsp pepper
16 oz sharp cheddar cheese
1/4 tbsp butter
3 cups elbow noodles

1. Prepare elbow noodles
2. Cut or shred cheese.
3. Mix milk, salt, pepper and butter it a pot. Heat on medium high.
4. Once butter has melted begin to slowly add cheese. Stir as you add.
5. Allow cheese to melt.
6. Add noodles to an oven safe pan.
7. Pour mixture from pot onto noodles. Make sure the mixture is covering noodles. You’ll need the extra moisture.
8. Stir sour cream into noodles and mixture.
9. Cover and cook for 30 minutes on 400 degrees.
10. Remove covering cook for additional 15 minutes. As always keep your eye on the dish as some ovens cook differently.
11. Allow to sit for 5 minutes
12. Enjoy!

*If you prefer mac and cheese a little stiffer add no more than a 1/2 cup of flour.

(I personally believe the flour has been my downfall over the years. I suppose it was a good thing one child was cleaning our dog area (in the laundry room off the kitchen) while wearing Beats headphones singing at a ridiculous volume. The other was doing at the kitchen table doing homework followed by super loud reading. (Listening to a 6 year old read is like reading a drunk text lol…several words that don’t exist followed by letter sounds you’ve never heard hahaha) All the events mentioned prior aided in me forgetting the flour! LOL. Consequently, assisting me in
successfully executing my mac and cheese! )


Picture Instructions:

img_95991

Leave a Reply

