Pinterest Mission · Recipe

Italian Stuffed Top Round Beef

Coming home without a dinner plan can be stressful. Never fear Pinterest is here! Pinterest is one of my go to sites when I haven’t prepared for dinner or if I just want something new. As I’ve said before cooking dainty food is my mission.

While scrolling through Pinterest this evening I happened upon a recipe for Italian Stuffed Flank Steak on The Chunky Chef’s blog. Her pictures looked so tasty I wanted to go through the computer. Therefore, I accepted my self given mission of preparing it.

Here’s my rendition of Italian Stuffed Flank Steak! For the most part of I followed this recipe completely. The only thing I substituted was top round beef because it’s what I had in my house! LOL (you all know how I am).

Note: This post will explain how this meal was prepared however at the end an honest opinion will be given. Please be sure to read to the end! 🙂

What You Will Need:
2 -2 1/2 pounds Top Round Beef
1 small shallot, minced
2 tbsp fresh, finely minced parsley
1 tsp rubbed sage
1 tsp fresh, finely minced basil
2 tbsp olive oil
3 cloves of garlic
1 pk of prosciutto
6 slices provolone cheese
6- 10 toothpicks

1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Mix olive oil, parsley, sage, basil and shallot in a bowl. Set aside.

3. Using a meat maillot beat top round beef until thin. Be sure not to put holes in the meat.

4. Spread mixture in the bowl onto the beef. Next layer should be prosciutto. Lastly add cheese.

5. Firmly roll beef.

6. Put toothpicks in loose side. You can also fold ends of beef inward and stick a toothpick in it.

7. Slice into smaller pieces in between toothpicks.

8. Heat olive oil in a cast iron pan. Use medium to medium high heat depending on how your stove performs.

9. Put each piece of beef in. Brown on each cut end or end. Brown sides as well.

10. Once meat is brown put the whole pan in the oven. USE AN OVEN MIT; CAST IRON PANS GET HOT ALL OVER!

11. Allow to finish cooking in oven for 5-10 minutes. Amount of time depends on how “well” you like your steak.

12. Enjoy

This was absolutely what I needed. A clean meal that tasted great! I love the use of so many fresh herbs. The prosciutto made the need for salt unnecessary in my opinion. Flavorful is an understatement for this dish. It was bursting with flavor! Additionally, this was very easy to make. 


Ingredients not used from original recipe: cooking twine, salt and pepper

Substitutions: Top Round Beef for Flank Steak

Added to recipe: n/a

Picture instructions:

Leave a Reply

