Recipe · sunday dinner

Sunday Dinner #9

Every now and again going back to your roots, meaning the things you ate as a child, can be very comforting (I supposed that’s why it’s called comfort food). This meal was prepared a week ago whilst awaiting the return of one of my children. All week I longed for dinners from my childhood. Hearty, stick to the ribs (as the old folks would say lol) cuisines.

My passion is for dainty, flavorful meals. Slicing and dicing fresh herbs, using ingredients that are unpronounceable, while praying to the cooking powers that be gives me a rush. Making a meal that’s “cute” really excites me. I feel like I’m a real chef in a 5 star restaurant, marveling and attempting to capture the perfect picture to share with you all. (Just go with me on that one hahahaha) All the same tonight’s Sunday Dinner is meatloaf, homemade mash potatoes, and from the package gravy (I was out of flour for some reason lol).

What You Will Need:
1 lb hamburger
1-2 tbsp diced onions and green peppers
1/2 tbsp salt
1/3 tsp oregano
1/3 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tbsp Panko bread crumbs (any bread crumb)
1 egg
Sprinkle of parsley (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Mix all items above in a bowl using your hands. The amount of bread crumbs used should be based how firm you prefer meat loaf. Use less for a less firm meatloaf.
3. Form hamburger into a roll.
4. Sparingly sprinkle parsley on top. Again this step is optional.
5. Cover and put in oven until cooked thoroughly. About 20-30 minutes. Use a toothpick to test. Cooking time depends on size of loaf as well. Keep and eye on it.
6. Allow to rest for 5 minutes then slice and enjoy!

*Using lean hamburger with result in a bigger loaf after cooking.


Leave a Reply

