Coupons · Uncategorized

Savvy Savings

Learning to coupon was one of the best money saving tricks ever learned. After the birth of my youngest child money was extremely tight. (babies are expensive…just a little fyi for ya lol). While skeptically watching Extreme Couponers I vowed to prove the show a fake. Hahahahaha…ridiculousness I know. The following Sunday I purchased 5 newspapers and started searching the internet for sites which taught couponing. Surprisingly, there were several. After writing a complete list of items the sites said could be obtained for little to no money I headed out to the stores. That was over 5-6 years ago. The show was real and I had found my family’s saving grace.

Unless, I am on hiatus our personal care, household items and some food items are either free or way under cost.

Although the coupon trip this weekend was short lived I still found great items. Here’s a breakdown.

IMG_8987[1]

Wisk – This was a discontinued item. The price was $2.49. There was a coupon for $2.00 off 1 Wish detergent. Final Cost: $.49 a bottle.

Garnier Conditioner – This was a discontinued item. The price was $1.99. There was a coupon for $2.00 off 1 Shampoo or Condition. The coupon limited use to 4 coupons per transaction, per household, per day. I was only able to purchase 4. Final Cost: Free (taxes were charged per the coupon rule)

Snack Pack Pudding – This was a discontinued item. The price was $.50 each 4 pack. There was coupon for $.45 off 3 packs. The store doubled coupons. The coupon redeemed for $.90. Three, 4  packs cost $1.50 subtract $.90…Final cost: $.60 for three, 4 packs of snack pack pudding. 

BIC Pens – The pens were $.99. There was a coupon for $1.00 off one BIC product. The coupon was adjusted down to $.99. Final cost: Free (this is the tax free weekend for school supplies so I walked out paying nothing.)

Everything in the picture above was purchased for $4.75. I’d say that’s a steal!

Below are some websites that can help you begin couponing as well.

The Krazy Coupon Lady – This was my go to site. Here you will find detailed breakdowns by store and region for coupon deals. The site is very active. If an admin is not able to answer your question there are several other “couponers” willing and able to help. You can find a coupon database on this site as well. A facebook page is also available.

Southern Savers – If you live in the south this is the site for you. Even if you don’t this site will be helpful. As with the site above you can find detailed breakdowns which are added to the site daily. A coupon database is also available here.

Coupons.com – Coupons, coupons and more coupons. Here you can print coupons right from the comfort of your home. There’s a limit of two like coupon prints. Most times high value coupons can be found here.

Be sure to follow if you enjoyed this post! 🙂 More like post to come!

6 thoughts on “Savvy Savings

    1. Thanks! I thought I responded to this comment days ago. Please forgive!

      Coupons are absolutely awesome. If you can find the time to organize a lot of money can be saved! (I’m currently 3 weeks behind lol)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. What an awesome haul! I love it when you are able to find them on clearance and then add a coupon to it. Since I’ve started couponing about 3 months ago, my shampoos, conditionrs, body wash, and toothpaste is covered for the next year lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to be an extreme couponer – no lie. I had my binder, my lists, my ads and I prepped and I shopped. I was frequently stopped by people in the store asking me about couponing and I would give mini-lessons right there. I once prepped for 2 hours, shopped for 2 hours and when all was said and done $174 in deals were mine – free and clear. I paid nothing after all the extra care bucks, register rewards, and coupons had been tendered.

    It’s definitely a skill. While I have had to change what I coupon for because of dietary and chemical issues, I’m still a bargain hunter and live for paying less than retail. It’s a way of life!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

