Recipe · sunday dinner

Sunday Dinner #3

On my clean eating journey I am finding myself trying foods which would normally not even be ordered in a five star restaurant…by me. A few weeks ago while scrolling through Pinterest a recipe for blackened fish appeared in my feeds. Naturally I pinned the picture of the burnt looking fish LOL. So apparently tonight the “burnt” fish looked appealing and I decided to try it! The only way avocado is incorporated in my diet is wrapped in nori and rice coupled with shrimp or some type raw fish…I love sushi! For as long as I could remember any cabbage I ate was pretty much dead and void of any nutrition. That’s how cooked it was. And I liked it! As I am I typing, I am seriously trying to figure out why I picked this recipe. It doesn’t matter really because it was delicious! Even my eldest child who attempts to dislike as much as possible lol enjoyed this meal.

I did not follow the blackened talapia recipe exactly however I did you use it as guide. If you are looking for a quick easy dinner here’s one to try.

What You Will Need:
Blackened Tilapia
2-4 Filleted Tilapia
3 tbsp paprika
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1/2 garlic clove
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tbsp garlic salt
1/2 tbsp onion salt
olive oil
*Soft Tortillas
*2 tsps butter

Avocado Lime Puree
(Mix all items in a blender and boom…you’re welcome! LOL)
1 Avocado (remove seed and peel)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 lime (squeeze juice)

Blanched Cabbage 
(Shred and blanch…do not leave in steaming water any longer than 3 minutes)
1 cabbage steak
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 water

*This has waaaay more salt than I normally use. Please cut back on salt anywhere you see fit. For example in the rub for the tilapia use garlic and onion powder in place of the salt. The cabbage can be blanched without salt as well. If avocado is a taste you enjoy don’t add the salt at all. The lime will flavor the avocado just fine! 🙂

Prep & Cook Time For Tilapia: 20-30 mins

1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.

2. Peel and mince garlic clove. Be sure to mince as fine as possible. These pieces will be put into your fish rub.

3. Mix all the ingredients listed above under “Blackened Talapia” in a bowl.

4. Generously grease a non stick pan or foil wrap with olive oil.

5. Rinse fish and pat dry with a paper towel. Brush fish with olive oil. Rub ingredients on fish. After all fillets are covered, using the back of a spoon, spread a little olive oil over the rub.

6. Allow to cook for 10-15 minutes.

7. Once cooked allow to cool a bit for 3-5 minutes. Once cooled break or cut fish into pieces.

Don’t forget to warm your tortillas. Melt 2 tsp of butter. Spread butter on tortillas with a brush. Cover in foil wrap. Warm in over for 3-5 minutes.

In an effort to keep this post under 550 words I cut some corners. LOL. If you have any questions please feel free to comment. I love comments! 🙂

 

 

One thought on “Sunday Dinner #3

Leave a Reply

