I Lost A Person I Hadn't Found · Life Talk · opinion

The Long Year

After one of the longest, saddest, most stressful and trying years of my life I decided no longer would I allow life to just happen to me. My life was mine! Things happening is inevitable however how I allow them to affect me was my decision.

I was allowed to be angry. I could cry if I wanted to…even lay on the couch  (I have two kids so that didn’t last long) and sulk. My whole 2013 was on “the couch”…figuratively speaking. Being a single mother being able to work through emotional things isn’t easy due to the fact that you have to be “present”. In this time I did what was absolutely necessary. I will be honest…I washed clothes as needed, I cleaned as needed and I did what I could to make it through the day. It was a rough year! Based on conversations I have had with my children they didn’t seem to notice. However, I felt like the worst mother.

So long story short…at the beginning of 2014 I got up off of my figurative couch, dusted myself off and moved on with life. This is one of the best quotes I read after that year…just wanted to share a short snippet into me…

meryl streep

I hope everyone is having a wonderful Friday! 🙂

Do you have a quote that you just love and can feel down in your bones?

5 thoughts on “The Long Year

  1. Have you ever heard of the artist Sia?
    Her song ‘Alive’ does for me what this quote does for you.

    Love the post, I am so glad that you got up off your metaphorical couch and walked on. I hate it when people seem to be stuck in the mud and can’t figure their way out of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your story is very sad, but I think everything will work out for you, you have pulled yourself together and are moving on.
    Keep writing it’s good for you, all the best to your future. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

