Mommy Talk

I Hope They Remember the Good Times

IMG_7727I’m sitting at the kitchen table listening to my sweet child (sarcasm) go over her sight words and pretending not to know them. *Rolls eyes* My mind reflects on a time when we had a wonderful night together. We have them often but I forget them when I’m trying to keep my cool at homework time. LOL The only thing that comes to my mind is “Jesus take the wheel…maybe the whole car” depending on how much longer I have to appease her while she plays mind games with me. It can be rather frustrating. I know some of you parents agree. It’s nothing like knowing your child comprehended or knew something not 24 hours ago but apparently it seeped out during the day! Heaven help me! LOL

 

Consequently, this evening has prompted me to share a mommy/daughter night idea. That night the mood was light and airy!

My daughter is one of those always moving, always talking, always touching children. At times it makes me want to consider buying one of those leashes. HAHAHAHAHA! She’s 5 imagine the looks and whispers that will come out of that idea. I should do it just to see how it goes. Enough with the leash talk! I’m getting one!

So one night when it was just me and her (my son leaves every other weekend) I decided we would have our own personal Paint Nite and YouTube would be our teacher! I prepared fancy finger food for us and turned on a little fun kid music. I covered my beige carpet with a sheet to avoid stress that didn’t need to be. We drank out of fancy glasses! Yep we got Kool-aid wasted. We talked about silly stuff as we painted, we smiled at each, busted out laughing a couple of times and just enjoyed each others company. I even caught myself gazing at her and smiling. In one moment she caught me and said “what” with all her teeth showing. I just replied “O nothing I just love you”.

I often wonder what my kids will remember about me. Prayerfully this will be a night she remembers. Unless my fate is Alzheimer’s (God forbid) I know I will! 🙂

It is my sincere hope that everyone had a wonderful day!

10 thoughts on “I Hope They Remember the Good Times

  1. LOOOVE this! This is such a great idea! My son is only 7 months old, but I cant wait to do things like this with him. I love being crafty so this is definitely one to keep in mind! Great post!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading this made me realize that I haven’t spent much one on one time with my daughter, lately. (She is also always moving, talking, and touching) and this is a great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My mom was always used to say “I hope you remember your mother” when she did something kind for me and my brother. Well done. As for the homework, I just don’t know how that works with the kids. Any parenting advice on how to have the kids do quality homework ?

    Like

  4. My kids are both grown and gone; and I have the privilege of co-parenting my two beautiful granddaughters (6 and 3) I often think about what they will remember about these very formative years when we spend so much time with them (sadly, much more than I spent with my own two children). I’m trying to make as many special times together, like your paint night, si hopefully they’ll have plenty to reminisce about when granddaddy’s with Jesus. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! Thank you for stopping by. As the one live in parent for my children I don’t want that to be the only thing that they remember. I try to do as much as I can to give them good memories of me and life in general!

      Like

Leave a Reply

