Recipe

Next the Pasta…

pizzaAs I have said before healthy eating has never been something I ran toward. In fact I ran the opposite way like a wild animal was chasing me. Dueces healthy food! LOL

Not too long ago I decided to start try healthy clean eating meals for a whole 5 days. Only when I became serious about this lifestyle change did I realize healthy did not mean tasteless, boring and bland. It simply meant real natural ingredients.

While scrolling through Pinterest (one of my fav sites) I happened upon a recipe for zucchini noodles. ONLY the picture caught my attention because it was colorful. Yes, like a toddler I picked what I liked and would potentially eat based on the color. Ha! I’m not proud about it but it happened. Thankfully this time it worked in my favor.

I would say go out on a limb and try it! It was delicious while also nutritious! Unfortunately, I did not take a picture,  in all honesty I thought it was going to be disgusting and not worth posting.

My kitchen is not stocked with fancy cooking utensils. This is due to my prior life’s motto: “Less Cooking is Best”. However, not too long ago my mother cleaned out her kitchen so I had vegetable cutter.

Zucchini-Noodles-and-Shrimp
*Photo cred http://www.addicted2recipes.com – google search

What you will need:
2 Medium Zucchinis
Parsley
Olive Oil
1/2 Lemon
Pinch of Salt

Prep Time: 10-20 mins (depends on your cutter)
Clean outside of zucchini (it will not be peeled). Cut zucchini using a vegetable cutter.

Cook Time: 10-25 mins
Turn stove on medium. Cover the bottom of a non stick pan with olive oil. Add zucchini to the pan. Sprinkle fresh parsley onto zucchini. (I did not measure. I just diced a few leaves.) Lightly squeeze fresh lemon juice on zucchini. Add a pinch of salt. Toss the zucchini in the pan while allowing it to continue to cook.

Keep an eye on the zucchini. I personally wanted the “noodles” to still have crunch. My noodles cooked for maybe 10 or 15 minutes.

I topped them sauteed shrimp and it tasted ahmazing! 😀

*Feature Photo Cred: http://www.elanaspantry.com

 

One thought on “Next the Pasta…

Leave a Reply

